top of page
Search

A rooftop evening with Mandy

Updated: May 28, 2019



I have always wanted to do a shoot on a rooftop in downtown Portland. I had this picture in my head of the sun setting giving off that beautiful golden light, the city in the background and a beautiful, perfectly lit model occupying my lens. Then one day my friend Casey posted a snapchat video of her doing a walk through of a high rise apartment downtown, so I messaged her and asked if she knew anyone that could get me access. Boy did she deliver! Not only did she put me in contact with someone that could get me onto the roof but she also opened up a penthouse for me. Now all I had to do was find a model.


I contacted a few people I knew but the timing just wasn't working out. Mandy and I had been trying to link up for some time but for some reason, probably lack of motivation, we were never able to make it happen. A couple of weeks prior, I had seen a photo that she took of herself in an amazing red dress that she wore to a derby party. I immediately sent her a message telling her that we absolutely had to re-create that image in a more, let's say, appealing setting. I hit her up and she just happened to be available. She met me there and I think we accomplished our goal, nicely.


I'd like to thank Kate from Storyline Apartments for the amazing access. I'd also like to thank Mandy's daughter, Emma, for being a great assistant, holding my lights and helping with encouraging her mom.


This is the photo I saw that she posted on Instagram and instantly wanted to re-create.

Enjoy some more images from the shoot. Mandy is a joy to work with and I look forward to shooting with her again.


And the final product.


9 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page