top of page
Search

Conceptual Art with Lisa


I've always wanted to have a studio in my house so when my roommate moved out I decided to take my spare room and set up some lights and a back drop and call it a studio. I mean, technically that's what it is, right? So what if it rudimentary, right? I'm going with it. Anyway, my good friend Lisa had helped me on the shoot I did with Erin and wanted to shoot with me for some time. Like usual, we had some scheduling conflicts so it took a while but we finally made it happen.


She came over and we started getting warmed up. It may sound funny but a photoshoot definitely has a pulse, especially if I'm shooting with someone I've never shot with before. It starts out slow and builds as time goes by. Almost like a runner would show up to a race, stretch out and get limber before really taking off. Well, this shoot took some time. Being the first time shooting in my "studio" I had to really dial in my lighting and since it was the first time Lisa and I had shot together we had to figure out what each of us wanted out of the shoot.


After about an hour and a half of experimenting we finally hit our stride. We shot more good shots in the last 20 minutes, or so, than we did in that first hour and a half. I remember getting one shot and then having this concept pop into my head of a weeping widow or distressed mourner. So I got some of my daughters mascara and had her smear it down her eyes to look as though she had been crying. What you see above is the image that came from that. All and all we had a good time, drank some wine, and fired off a couple hundred shots. It was good practice for both of us. As you can see Lisa is quite the photogenic woman. I look forward to doing some more studio work in the near future.





17 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page