top of page
Search

Bringing concepts to fruition with Ajit

Updated: Jun 12, 2019


Ajit hit me up and said he wanted to get together to talk about a business idea so I jumped in my car and rolled to his apartment downtown. After smashing some Chipotle and brainstorming for a little while I told him about this concept I had that I thought he would be perfect for. Being someone who is always down for making some art he eagerly agreed to help me so we set out for PDX.

When we arrived I quickly realized that the spot we were allowed to be in wouldn't work. It was too far north to be lined up with the runway so I knew that we were going to either have to alter my vision or break some rules to get the shot. So I set up my gear and got my exposure all set, took a few test shots and then waited. We eyed a spot that I knew would be right under the approaching jets but it was in an area with a big sign that said, "Construction vehicles only".


We fired off a few shots to test the light and so that Ajit could get used to being in front of the camera, which he was a complete natural. The images were coming out absolutely amazing but I knew that the only way I was going to be satisfied was if I got the shot I have had in my head for months. So we plotted our mission.


Once we felt we had everything all dialed and ready we headed into the area to get the shot. It only took two planes to capture the image below which was really close to what I had pictured in my head. It's a good thing because about three minutes after we got it the cops showed up to make sure we made a prompt exit from the premises. I feel that photography gets really fun when you set out with an image in mind and then make it come to fruition. After all, this is art.


Thank you to Ajit for sitting in traffic for what was at least 2 hours just to help me realize my vision. Hope you love the image as much as I do

17 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page