top of page
Search

Making magic with Melissa

Updated: May 28, 2019


I met Melissa (IG: @rouxroamer) a couple of years ago when I joined my buddy Tim (IG: @reedfilms) for a sunrise shoot at Jonsrud Viewpoint. At that point I had no idea who she was or that she had an amazing Instagram account. All I knew is that she was doing some amazing poses with this bright red scarf that was blowing perfectly in the crisp morning wind.

Fast forward to the present and I hit her up with a concept I was kicking around that I thought would perfectly match her theme. I picked her up at her house and we headed downtown to the East Bank Promenade with the idea of shooting on the dock with the setting sun falling behind the city. When we first arrived I was excited to see a sky filled with moody clouds but as soon as we got all set up the clouds broke and ended up giving us a pretty decent sunset. Although I originally wanted clouds, I'm pretty happy how the photos turned out.


Even before we did the downtown shoot I had the idea of shooting her at a waterfall. A few days prior I had gone up to Latourell Falls with Alexandra to do some test shots so I knew what to expect as far as composition and lighting. It's a good thing we did because when we got there it was pouring down rain. It was wet, she was cold, I didn't want gear getting soaked or for her to freeze so I knew our time was limited. We ended up nailing these shots within about 20-30 minutes of arriving on location. Melissa is an absolute professional and I thank her for dealing with the cold temps and muddy feet in order to allow me to realize my vision. It's exactly what I was looking for.



5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page